Talking Statues Map

ABOUT US

Talking Statues is coming to Berlin. Originally developed in Copenhagen and London, the project has already been imitated in Manchester and Chicago, San Diego, Helsinki and Vilnius. The idea is as brilliant as it is simple: public statues and artworks are equipped with a QR code, passers-by that scan the code with their smartphones receive a call from the statue, telling them their story.

The pilot project Talking Statues Berlin was launched by Kulturprojekte Berlin as part of the MuseumSummer 2015 and will take place over three years. The first five statues started talking on 29 August 2015 as part of the Long Night of Museums.

  • The Käthe Kollwitz statue by Gustav Seitz at Kollwitz-Platz in Pankow
  • The Heinrich Zille monument by Thorsten Stegmann in Nikolaiviertel
  • The Lise Meitner monument by Anna Franziska Schwarzbach in the forecourt of the Humboldt University of Berlin
  • The Marx and Engels monument by Ludwig Engelhardt at the Marx-Engels Forum at Alexanderplatz
  • The Lion by August Gaul in the colonnaded courtyard in front of the Alte Nationalgalerie (Museum Island)

In September 2015 the Berliner Kurier newspaper called on its readers to suggest more Berlin monuments that should be made to talk. The ones that got most nominations were the Bertolt Brecht statue by Fritz Cremer in front of the Berliner Ensemble and the statue of the Captain of Köpenick in front of Köpenick Town Hall. From summer 2017 you will be able to get calls from Bertolt Brecht, with the voice of actor Axel Prahl, and the Captain of Köpenick, given voice by Florian Martens.

All the texts originate from the Berliner, author and journalist, Nadja Klinger. Talking Statues Berlin is bilingual. The author and actor Daniel Brunet has translated the texts into English and speaks the male roles in the English versions. The female voice is that of artist Catherine Duquette.

We want to thank our technology partner Antenna International, the Berlin Office for Memorial Protection and the Lower Memorial Protection Authorities of Pankow, Mitte and Charlottenburg for their support, the Wohnungsbaugesellschaft Mitte, Humboldt University of Berlin, Alte Nationalgalerie and the State Museums of Berlin for their permission to let their memorials speak.

Project team
Project management: Katje Geßner
Editorial: Annette Meier
Translation: Nicola Meyer
Art direction: Ines Ebel

IMPRESSUM

Angaben gemäß § 5 TMG:
Kulturprojekte Berlin GmbH
Klosterstraße 68
10179 Berlin
Vertreten durch: Moritz van Dülmen, Geschäftsführer

Verantwortlich für den Inhalt nach § 55 Abs. 2 RStV:
Annette Meier
Kulturprojekte Berlin GmbH
Klosterstraße 68
10179 Berlin
a.meier@kulturprojekte.berlin

Pressekontakt
Dr. Gabriele Miketta / Susanne Galle
Tel. +49 (0)30-24749-732 / - 864, Fax. +49 (0)30-24749-710
pr@kulturprojekte.berlin

Talking Statues Map

ÜBER UNS

Mit Talking Statues holt Kulturprojekte Berlin eine Idee nach Berlin, die in Kopenhagen und London entwickelt wurde und inzwischen auch Nachahmungen in Manchester, Chicago, San Diego, Helsinki und Vilnius erfahren hat: Denkmäler und Kunstwerke im öffentlichen Raum werden mit einem QR-Code ausgestattet. Wer diesen Code mit seinem Smartphone scannt, bekommt einen Anruf vom jeweiligen Denkmal und erfährt dessen Geschichte.

Das zunächst auf drei Jahre angelegte Pilotprojekt ist Teil des MuseumsSommers. Die ersten fünf Denkmäler gingen am 29. August 2015 zur Langen Nacht der Museen 2015 an den Start.

  • Die Käthe-Kollwitz-Plastik von Gustav Seitz auf dem Kollwitz-Platz in Berlin-Pankow; gesprochen von Katharina Thalbach
  • Das Heinrich-Zille-Denkmal von Thorsten Stegmann im Nikolaiviertel; gesprochen von Walter Plathe
  • Das Lise-Meitner-Denkmal von Anna Franziska Schwarzbach im Ehrenhof der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin; gesprochen von Sandra Maischberger
  • Das von Ludwig Engelhardt für das Marx-Engels-Forum geschaffene Marx-Engels-Denkmal in Berlin-Mitte; gesprochen von Gregor Gysi
  • Der Löwe von August Gaul im Kolonnadenhof der Alten Nationalgalerie; gesprochen von Dietmar Wunder, der deutschen Stimme von James Bond.

Im September 2015 rief der Berliner Kurier seine Leser dazu auf, weitere Berliner Denkmäler vorzuschlagen, die zum Sprechen gebracht werden sollten. Die meist genannten waren das Bertolt-Brecht-Denkmal von Fritz Cremer vor dem Berliner Ensemble und das Denkmal des Hauptmanns von Köpenick vor dem Rathaus Köpenick. Ab Sommer 2017 können Sie sich von Bertolt Brecht, gesprochen von Axel Prahl, und dem Hauptmann von Köpenick, dem Florian Martens seine Stimme leiht, anrufen lassen.

Die Texte wurden von der Berliner Autorin und Journalistin Nadja Klinger verfasst. Talking Statues Berlin ist zweisprachig. Der Autor und Schauspieler Daniel Brunet hat die Texte ins Englische übertragen und spricht die männlichen Rollen in den englischsprachigen Versionen. Die weibliche Stimme gehört der Künstlerin Catherine Duquette.

Wir bedanken uns bei unserem Technologiepartner, Antenna International, dem Landesdenkmalamt Berlin und den Unteren Denkmalschutzbehörden von Pankow, Mitte und Charlottenburg für die freundliche Unterstützung, bei der Wohnungsbaugesellschaft Mitte, dem Bezirksamt Köpenick, der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, der Alten Nationalgalerie und den Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin für die Erlaubnis, „ihre“ Denkmäler zum Sprechen zu bringen.

Projektteam
Projektmanagement: Katje Geßner
Redaktion: Annette Meier
Übersetzung: Nicola Meyer
Art Direction: Ines Ebel

IMPRESSUM

Angaben gemäß § 5 TMG:
Kulturprojekte Berlin GmbH
Klosterstraße 68
10179 Berlin
Vertreten durch: Moritz van Dülmen, Geschäftsführer

Verantwortlich für den Inhalt nach § 55 Abs. 2 RStV:
Annette Meier
Kulturprojekte Berlin GmbH
Klosterstraße 68
10179 Berlin
a.meier@kulturprojekte.berlin

Pressekontakt
Dr. Gabriele Miketta / Susanne Galle
Tel. +40 (0)30-24749-732 / - 864, Fax. +49 (0)30-24749-710
pr@kulturprojekte.berlin